Yes, every Blender version has its own User Preferences file, so, you can have different addons enabled in different versions…
When upgrading to a newer version, the first time you open Blender, there is an option in the Splash Screen to use the Preferences from an earlier version, but that is easy to miss and you only get one chance;)
If you have made a lot of changes in your Preferences, you can also copy the userpref.blend file from 2.82 to 2.83…
you just have to know where to find it…Here is the layout for the different operating systems:
https://docs.blender.org/manual/en/dev/advanced/blender_directory_layout.html?highlight=userpref