That is a bit of a confusing name, but Global Undo is the undo per se. It may sound like if you turn that off, you switch to a Local Undo, but you completely turn off the undo ability. Only useful to save memory. Just don’t make any mistakes.
Strangely enough: SHIFT+R repeat last operation still works.