My guess is that it’s the result of duplicating or extruding by accident, and then hitting escape to cancel. That can be deceptive because it looks like it’s cancelled the whole operation when actually the new geometry is still there on top of the original geometry and it’s just cancelled the movement of the new vertices. Happens to everyone at some point!