Hey Jesse, in the cache bar is not the folder, but the path to the folder. Do not delete that.
Either delete the folder itself on your hard drive (should be next to your .blend. Blender will create a new one when playing the simulation), or, easier, just clear its content by changing a value in your Domain settings and then changing it back to what it was.