Okay, this was odd. I observed one thing from the beginning: The word “Saved” over the textbox for comments on the submission. I wrote one letter and it changed to “Unsaved”. I deleted the letter. It kept saying “Unsaved”. Then I submitted and voilà! I got a message saying the submission was done.