Ugh,
Really missing “Undo” on the sapling modifier.
If you have something you’re starting to be happy with I’d save it quickly rather than trying to “finalize” it.
You can always go back and save a different preset and/or overwrite the original save with a more refined version.
If you lose your modifier window, I think you’ve lost the ability to save that preset and have to start over.