Hey @naiad ,
Glad to see you solved the project cover issue.
For your second question,
The activity sharing will share activity with those who follow you.
It is like a notification setting.
The activity that is shared is things like when you post a project in the gallery, when you ask a question or when you follow someone, or submit an exercise.
No personal or private info is shared with anyone with this setting checked.
If you disable it, your followers won’t receive notification on their dashboard, but can still view your gallery projects in the gallery, read and respond to questions in the Blender Discussions, etc.