It’s a question I see quite a bit,
Unfortunately, no you can’t remove them at the moment, the team is aware of the desire of some to have this functionality, however I can’t say if or when this would be the case.
There are many higher priorities currently that is keeping the small team of devs busy.
Even completed course remain in the progress area, it is a nice feature for students to pick up where they left off if they decide the need a little more training on something first, or a project needs to dedicate learning to something else and coming back to a course later.
Although it seems like a small addition, it will probably require a larger rewrite of the progress feature as a whole.