Check what keying set you are using.
‘available’ will only key the channels that already have keys on them. So if you delete an entire channel (not just a keyframe) it will stay deleted.
But if you are using ‘LocRotScale’ or something similar, it will re-add any channels that are missing.
Hope that makes sense H&T.